One mans trash…

When I was younger, we had garage sales to get rid of unwanted items that we had grown out of.  I always found the crowd that would come by to rummage and haggle our discarded items to be such an intriguing group of people. Turns out I am one of these people.  While I was living in Tennessee I attended my first garage sale.  The first pair of dreamy soft leather boots I discovered and walked away with for $2, I was hooked.  Not being a morning person I started setting my alarm for Friday and Saturdays bright and early.  I got a thrill looking for signs and following them into new areas of the rolling Knoxville hills- on a mission to find unwanted discarded items that I could rescue and make mine.  That was in 2007 and I still occasionally set my alarm to go treasure hunting.

Here are some pictures I took of my Saturday morning exploration in Seattle.

This sign did not have the kind of live girls most would anticipate.
This sign did not have the kind of live girls most would anticipate.
I have learned my lesson with bringing home unrealistic free items by experiencing multiple irritated boyfriends in the past.  Driving up with a stranger hauling a discarded piece of furniture that just needs
I have learned my lesson with bringing home unrealistic free items by experiencing multiple irritated boyfriends in the past. Driving up with a stranger hauling a discarded piece of furniture that just needs “a little love” . I envy whoever ended up with this gem.
Someone decided they weren't meant to be Picasso.  It always breaks my heart to see someone selling a discarded hobbies work.
Someone decided they weren’t meant to be Picasso. It always breaks my heart to see someone selling a discarded hobbies work.
A little Girl was selling glitter Tattoos, so of course I got a blue glitter cat.
A little Girl was selling glitter Tattoos, so of course I got a blue glitter cat.
My favorite findings. A globe from the 40's $2!  I also do metal work and this tool box is beyond perfect for some of my metalworking tools, another steal at $3.  I also love supporting a garage sale that is giving to a good cause.
These were my favorite findings…A globe from the 1940’s for just $2! I also do metal work and this tool box is beyond perfect for some of my metalworking tools, another steal at $3. I also love supporting a garage sale that is giving to a good cause.

I got many other little nik-naks that I have already stuck onto little shelves.  Remember how I said that I know better than to bring big pieces of furniture home that need a little TLC?  Ya… I brought one of those home and I just adore it and look forward to sprucing it up.  A sweet man in his 70’s or so loaded into my car, now I just have to sweet talk my guy into carrying it up to the third floor of the house.  Pictures to follow!

After arriving home I was treated to a great view out my front window of a cluster of colorful sail boats!
After arriving home I was treated to a great view out my front window of a cluster of colorful sail boats!

I don’t know if this will find anyones attention, but if it does have a lovely Tuesday.  

One thought on “One mans trash…

Leave a Reply

