Combing the Beach

Lately I have been emotionally all over the place. I haven’t known what to do to keep myself busy so I don’t dwell on melancholy issues in my present life. I found myself on the beach the other day completely calm searching for seaglass. Losing a couple hours to the coast every day is honestly the best therapy.

I have 218 steps down to the beach, since I had looked up the tide time, I knew the best time of day to comb.
I have 218 steps down to the beach, since I had looked up the tide time, I knew the best time of day to comb.
I stayed in this area, a rare moment when this section of beach was empty, my favorite.
I stayed in this area, a rare moment when this section of beach was empty, my favorite.
First piece of blue glass this year, definitely the rarest color to find on Alki.
First piece of blue glass this year, definitely the rarest color to find on Alki.

My childhood was spent vacationing to drivable and affordable locations.  My parents utilized the fact that we lived in the glorious state of Washington, where you can drive in any direction for thirty minutes and be surrounded by beautiful wilderness.  I have vivid memories of being able to collect treasures to fill up my bucket.  It’s funny how kids love collecting treasures.  Being that anything you find washed up on the beach is yours for the keeping is so exciting as a child, who has no form of currency it almost seems like a loop hole in the system.  By the time I was 18, I got on my first plane and at the time I felt embarrassed about it, but now I get nostalgic thinking of all the glorious PNW vacation spots my parents introduced me to.

Hidden Starfish
Hidden Starfish

I try to be a good citizen and along with collecting gems I also collect trash off the beach to dispose of. When I went to lift this piece of trash I was surprised to find a little starfish waiting for the tide to come back.

This Seaglass made a home for some barnacles
This Seaglass made a home for some barnacles
Crab shells are in abundance here.
Crab shells are in abundance here.  

There is such a variation of new and old sea life to explore.

My discarded pile (all the rocks that loose their glimmer when they dry) Had a caterpillar claim what I left.
My discarded pile (all the rocks that loose their glimmer when they dry) Had a caterpillar claim what I left.

My unwanted rocks were quickly explored by this fuzzy little guy.

My favorite piece of the day, a worn word from a bottle.  Please will never get old.
My favorite piece of the day, a worn word from a bottle. Please will never get old.

I hope to soften the edge on this, surround it with a sterling silver bezel and make a pendant.

My kept findings for the day, this bowl was also a finding from another day!
My kept findings for the day, this bowl was also a finding from another day!

I plan to go on a couple more wanders and then get this glass re-homed into some handcrafted jewelry.

Thanks for peeking in

Leave a Reply

