Pay it Forward.

I have been gathering products and supplies to put together some supply bags for people in need.

A favorite quote with a recent picture.
A favorite quote with a recent picture.

I often find people with a sign asking for “help”.  I like to think I’m not judgemental, but I’d be lying if I said I don’t consider someone in a tough time could be strugling with an addiction.  I sympathize with the struggles of addiction, but I don’t want to fuel the problem by giving that person money to continue harming themselves.  With that being said, not everyone living on the streets is a drug addict, but everyone living on the streets is in fact in need.  I have put a lot of thought in how I can help those people without just handing them cash.

I started collecting hygiene items as well as exciting editions.  It was important to me that whoever receives these bags doesn’t look at them as cheap toiletries thrown into a bag, instead a somewhat luxury bag to brighten their day.  I personally love random gestures of kindness, so I wanted to start providing that for strangers down on their luck.

A gathering of some products.
A gathering of some products.

– I have been lucky enough to travel the world a fair amount.  I never use the shampoos, conditioner, soap or lotions.  Yet I can’t resist snatching them up, now I am glad I did.

– I am a Sephora addict, as well as a subscriber to Ipsy and Birchbox.  I end up with a lot of luxury product and samples that I never open, I felt this would be a nice edition to the bags.

Little notes.
Little notes.

I wanted to add a little explanation and a general uplifting message.  I find a lot of groups add religious messages, since I don’t know the strangers religious preference, I feel the best way to relate to someone is through simple kindness.

Finished product loaded into back of car.
Finished product loaded into back of car.

These bags separated into male or female products.

  • Beef Jerkey
  • Beverage
  • Toothbrush/toothpaste
  • Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap and Lotion
  • Hand Warmers
  • Fresh Socks
  • Deodorant
  • Random Beauty Products
  • Chapstick
One of my favorite quotes, with on of my recent pictures.
One of my favorite quotes, with on of my recent pictures.

Any suggestions on this idea, or previous experiences I would love to hear about.

One thought on “Pay it Forward.

Leave a Reply

