I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.

A random trip to Orcas Island was such an unexpected treat.  Orcas Island is somewhere I had gone camping as a child and has ever since had a special place in my heart.

Deception Pass
Deception Pass

On the way to Anacortes where you catch the ferry to the San Juan Islands is a great spot called Deception Pass.  No matter how many times I have seen this place, it always takes my breath away.  I always get the chills at one spot of Deception Pass because in 2010 I found a dead body, seriously.

Some Pictures around the bridge
Some Pictures around the bridge

That is my model face… and that is why I am not a model 😉

Nailed it?
Nailed it?

I asked for this picture and the hand in the picture was not amused with the thirty times he tried to take it.  Recognize it from those around the world pictures of the sexy brunette?  I tried… ha.

The wait for the ferry to come is always a long one, and expensive!  It cost $60 to get a car onto that thing! Luckily when you get on the ferry the view is breathtaking and they serve beer, which always helps.

Love the native art all over ferry.
Love the native art all over ferry.

Local beer, breath taking views- it was hard to get off!

Pit stop
Pit stop

Upon arriving to the island we did some exploring before checking into our hotel at the Island Hopping Brewery.  A very cute and cozy tasting room filled with locals.  I also found myself sitting next to a girl who had lived in Montrose, the same neighborhood of Houston that I did and it turned out that we knew a handful of the same people.  The world just seems to get smaller and smaller!

The room at Rosario Resort
The room at Rosario Resort

I stayed at the Rosario Resort  which had a dreamy little porch overlooking the water.  There was also an adorable restaurant on the marina which was about a 3 min walk down a little path that we ate at twice, and later went to the bar and mingled with the staff.

Random shots
Random shots

Exploring around the Island.

Found a book filled with interesting ways to judge the rarity of my seaglass findings. I had to pull over to snap a picture of this quaint little stand.
Found a book filled with interesting ways to judge the rarity of my seaglass findings. I had to pull over to snap a picture of this quaint little stand.

The evening sunset was pretty epic, though not much of a traditional Sunset.

IMG_59499

I highly recommend visiting the San Juan Islands, especially Orcas.  My only complaint about this trip is that it wasn’t long enough.

Amanda.

4 thoughts on “I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.

  1. Looks lovely!! My sister (and other family) lives in the Seattle area and my 14-month-old already has a shirt with a whale on it inscribed “San Juan Islands” on it, so this is a great recommendation for a place we could actually visit one day! I bet there’s a story behind the dead body–any chance you’ll share?? 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah,
      Before hiking near Deception Pass I had noticed a jacket covering a very nice camera. It was past the fence barrier and not very visible. It give me an awful feeling that I can’t explain. The person I was with told me there was nothing weird about it and that I should not touch someones stuff as they were probably close by. It was a brief hike and I couldn’t stop thinking about the jacket and camera the entire time. When we returned the items were still there, I went against my friends advice and I called 911 and explained the situation. I felt silly doing so and a little embarrassed, as it was probably nothing. We went to have lunch and carried on with our day. While driving back home we drove past the same spot. There were cop cars and a body being brought up in a stretcher. I stopped to inquire about what was happening and they couldn’t tell me much, except that they had found a dead body that had been down there for a couple days. It always make me wonder if someone could have saved him by finding him sooner, how many people had gotten weird vibes from the jacket just like I had? —Sorry long explanation 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

